About Us

Green Advocates
P.O. Box 1 – 5077
1000 Monrovia 10
Liberia
www.greenadvocates.org
info@greenadvocates.org

Members

Alfred Brownell, President, alfred.brownell@greenadvocates.org

<!--

Jerome J Verdier, Senior Staff Attorney, jerome.verdier@greenadvocates.org

T. Negbadee Warner Board Chairman, t.negbadee.warner@greenadvocates.org

Milton Taylor, Staff Attorney-Environment&litigation,

milton.taylor@greenadvocates.org

Powo Hilton, Staff Attorney – Research & Documentation,

powo.hilton@greenadvocates.org

Sundayway Nelson, Staff Attorney –Accountant, sundayway.nelson@greenadvocates.org

Othello Payman, Staff Attorney- Tribal Rights&Litigation,

othello.payman@greenadvocates.org

Albert Sims, Staff Attorney – Human Rights&

Litigation, albert.sims@greenadvocates.org
-->

The Association of Environmental Lawyers of Liberia (Green Advocates) was founded in 2001 by a group of progressive law school graduates. Green Advocates is Liberia’s first and only public interest environmental law organization dedicated to:

  • Protecting the environment,
  • Advancing human rights protection and advocacy through sound environmental practices, and;
  • Giving voice to rural, indigenous, and tribal people, who historically have been denied access to benefits accruing from the extraction of timber and other natural resources from their tribal and ancestral lands.

Through advocating for strong environmental laws, working to enforce existing laws, and empowering citizens to participate in environmental decision-making, Green Advocates is helping to build a sustainable future for Liberia.

Green Advocates is a not-for-profit organization (NGO) under Liberian laws and is accredited by the Ministry of Planning&Economic Affairs as a non-governmental organization.